perfect simplicity

perfectly simple. perfectly me.

umemura

with 5 comments

umemura.

I have vivid flashbacks of trips to Umemura as a small child.  Our family didn’t go out to eat a lot and, if we did, it was to any number of local Hawaiian restaurants in the area.  However, I always looked forward to the day my mom would announce a trip to their favorite ramen shop. I was never one to protest, as the only thing I did like as a child was ramen.

I distinctly remember gazing at the vintage Taco Bell architecture from my counter seat, eagerly awaiting our meal.  When our food arrived, a gigantic bowl of steaming ramen bigger than my face was placed in front of me.  I sat, happy as a clam, slurping up the goodness.    At that moment, nothing was better.  Ah, memories.

Somehow, I ended up neglecting this place for years.  With the multitude of ramen joints in the area, I just never got around to going back.  So, I made it a point to revisit this classic.  I’m glad I did.  It was just what I needed to rejuvenate the soul and cheer me up.

Umemura has an extensive menu including ramen, rice, and fried noodle dishes.  Ordinarily I order the umani ramen, but wanted something with a kick. I went with the hoi-koh-ro ramen which is a shoyu ramen topped with a spicy pork and vegetable stir fry.  The stir fry was a mixture of pork, carrots, cabbage, bamboo shoots, mushrooms and green onions.  Alone this would have been fantastic, but its addition to ramen created a harmonious blend of flavors.

There are places you go to for the scene, some strictly for the experience, some for the food and hopefully some that can deliver on all levels.  Then, there are those, like Umemura, that brings you back to a perfect time where life was a little bit easier.  It wouldn’t have mattered if the food or service was horrible because at that moment, I became that little girl again.

Umemura
1724 West Redondo Beach Boulevard
Gardena, California 90247

Written by liveeatlove

March 8, 2010 at 3:37 pm

Posted in Dining Out, Food, Japanese

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. where are the tater tots?

    SinoSoul

    March 8, 2010 at 4:06 pm

  2. that looks tasty

    kseverny

    March 8, 2010 at 4:33 pm

  3. SinoSoul: tater tots are the most underrated & underused side dish ever. i need to find a place that serves them!

    kserverny: it was!

    liveeatlove

    March 8, 2010 at 6:50 pm

  4. Ah, memories indeed! Those days were the best.

    Keizo

    March 9, 2010 at 9:34 pm

  5. If only life were so easy. All that mattered was family +friends + food + fun. I guess in the end, that’s still all that matters. 🙂

    liveeatlove

    March 11, 2010 at 12:55 pm


Leave a Reply

