perfect simplicity

perfectly simple. perfectly me.

ringing in the new year

leave a comment »

i don’t really do resolutions.

Oh, I’ve tried.  I would resolve to “exercise, eat healthier, and be a better person” as most everyone does at some point.  But, to be honest, it seemed more of a cop out than anything.  These were resolutions that others had made.  They weren’t really anything that I truly wanted.  Or, at least, the way I wanted.

This year, however, I began pondering the new year in advance.  For some reason, I really wanted to start anew.  The urge to truly stretch myself.  No, I’m not talking about soul searching.  I know what I need to do.  I know what I should do.  I just have to do it.

This is the year of DO.

  • Eat better- Eat locally sourced foods, frequent farmers markets, lessen meat intake, and eliminate processed foods.  Eating healthy is a priority, but eating right is the goal.  I’d just like to know that I am eating a product that is hormone and antibiotic free.  Although I don’t want to look my food in the eye before it becomes dinner, I can’t consciously consume food that has been inhumanely treated either.  Mass production ala Walmart just isn’t appealing.  I am not going to say I will never eat fast food or cheat because, let’s be real, that’s not going to happen.  Just overall better.
  • Take more photographs- It used to be that you would never see me without a camera in hand.  Something happened along the way and I stopped photographing altogether.  I must get back into this habit.
  • Learn more-  Whatever and wherever I am game.  I refuse to believe that just because we graduate, we stop learning.  I want to take classes, though subject matter is yet to be determined.  Maybe Illustrator, Photoshop, or a cooking class.  If I’m lucky, all three.
  • Cook more- Therapeutic and cost-saving.  Besides, I can’t think of a better way to spend time with people than to cook with and for them.
  • Keep up with others/Balance- I’m very bad at keeping in touch.  My friends say that once school begins, I crawl into my teaching hole and don’t come out for ten months.  I tend to agree with them.  I focus my energies on one thing and let the others fall to the wayside.  I don’t mean to do this, it just sort of happens. I have no excuse for letting months go by before seeing my closest friends. Or see the light of day. This is the year of balance.  Work is important, but so are my social, physical, and emotional engagements.
  • Read more- There is nothing better than the feel of a book.  I know this is the age of the Kindle, but there’s something to be said for checking out books at the library.  The central library in downtown Los Angeles is absolutely spectacular for perusing aisle upon aisle of volumes.  One can literally get lost in this colossal space and I intend to fully use it to its full potential.
  • Organize-  Where would I begin?  Probably my bedroom.  But, I’m also looking to organize recipes on my computer into a more manageable and usable forum.
  • Creativity-  Whether its going to a museum or simply walking outside, there is inspiration everywhere.  There just needs to be a way to focus this inspiration into something tangible.  Paper, photography, or words.  All are outlets for the inner self.  Hopefully I’ll be able to show some of my things here.
  • Exercise- Find something that I love.
  • Put a stamp in my passport- This one is already covered as I will be traveling to Mexico for a wedding in October.  Though, I’m contemplating a trip overseas.  Hopefully, this comes to fruition.
  • Worry less, enjoy more- Self explanatory

The funny thing is, we all know that we should do these things.  They’re common sense issues that everyone understands as true. But, sometimes, life just gets the better of us.  I hope that in writing these down, it solidifies my need to do. It will be a constant reminder to myself.

This is the year of do.


Written by liveeatlove

January 2, 2010 at 2:59 pm

Posted in Musings

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

